A Letter to the Lewis Community

Hello Families & Friends,

After nine years of working as an educator in Portland Public, I have accepted a position teaching and writing curriculum with Evergreen Public Schools.  It was not an easy decision to make after living and working in this community for the entirety of my adult life.

When school ended in the spring, I planned to return to Lewis Elementary in August and get back into the groove of our wonderful community.  Two weeks ago, an opportunity arose in Evergreen that in many senses was a dream job because I would get to combine my love of being in the classroom with my passion for writing meaningful curriculum.

The past six years of teaching 4th grade at Lewis have been amazing.  I have had a tearful few weeks because the thought of leaving this community is overwhelming.   I feel so grateful to have worked with such a gifted teaching and support staff that have offered me guidance, support, and friendship.  Lewis has been an incredible place to learn and grow.

The kids and families at Lewis are truly extraordinary.  Thank you for welcoming me as a newbie teacher, letting me spend my days with your kids, hearing me out during the hard conversations, and trusting that your children were ready to learn about race, gender, sexuality, ableism, inequality, and their power to change the world.

My PPS accounts have been disabled but I’d love to stay in touch and can be reached via by personal email account at a.rotwein@gmail.com.

All the Best,

Abby (Ms. R)

Leave a comment